cat among pigeons

Have you stopped being intolerant? Is tolerance always a good thing?

Ethical choices rely on a certain depth of understanding for one’s fellow beings. With that in mind, how do we feel about practices that confront our own moral values? Is our moral stance too rigidly Western/Eastern, Christian/Muslim/Atheist?

The word ‘ought’ is slightly different to ‘should’. At least in my understanding of the two words, ought carries the burden of moral responsibility whereas should contains the conditional get out clause. So if I ought to have done something, there seems no excuse for not having done it. If I only should have done it, well there was probably a good reason why I couldn’t or didn’t do it.

Kant seems to be the man on this one, I wish |I could remember more of my OU tutorials.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Argument_from_morality

http://www.wjh.harvard.edu/~jgreene/GreeneWJH/Greene-NRN-Is-Ought-03.pdf

 

 

Leave a Reply

