Fish

White fish flesh slowly baked, seasoned with dill, wrapped in Parma ham or snuggled in our Le Creuset casserole dish, sitting in a puddle of milk with olive oil drizzled on top and garnished with slivers of lemon…will this be tonight’s variation of Si and Dave’s Roasted Cod with Parma Ham and Peppers? fish bake

The Mediterranean theme to their dish is enticing, with ingredients like: courgettes, Parmesan cheese, Parma ham, Parma violets (only kidding), peppers and balsamic vinegar.

I got home to discover that my Mediterranean stocks were running low, not only that, but our Le Creuset had gone AWOL. Luckily, we have been given plenty of cooking pots and pans by generous relatives. I used a large, shallow glass ovenproof dish. Sunflower oil to grease the dish, and then what to put in?

I found carrots a leak and some potatoes. I sliced them all thinly and then created a milky bath (rather than a puddle) and a snugly, improvised bed for my three frozen fillets was ready. I tucked them in with a light green duvet of leaks, a dusting of dill, salt and pepper, and put them in the warmth.

Oh the rapture when a mere 45 minutes later my frozen fillets had transformed themselves into a hearty meal for three! Oh I forgot – pour off the milk that smells cheesy after its hot bath, and grate some strongish cheese over the dish. Put under the grill until browned. Serve with a dry white wine, or a beautifully chilled glass of Belfast water, with ice cubes formed from the very same ingredients that did for the Titanic on that fateful day back in ….alright, that’s enough of that drivel. A fine dish, if I say so myself.

Leave a Reply

