Another year another MOOC

Orion

I’ve just signed up for a MOOC created by the Open University In The Night Sky: Orion. This was prompted by my ignorance of some pretty basic stuff.

My better half asked me the other day “what is the sun made of?” and followed that up with “what is a star?” I have had the feeling for some time that my knowledge of planets, stars, galaxies and so on was pretty flimsy. I addressed this problem by recording Human Universe and similar documentaries. In one eye and out the other.

Obviously a course of proactive learning was called for. A MOOC is a good way of dipping in and out of the stuff that interests you, or digesting the whole thing if you have time

Leave a Reply

