self improvement or verse

I am aware of my shortcomings when it comes to writing poetry, so I have applied for three workshops on the theme of ‘place’ which might help improve my output.

I submitted some poems recently to a couple of poetry publications, but I was not  surprised to have had my offerings rejected. There is a finesse that I have not mastered, or attempted with any enthusiasm. Perhaps I am in too much of a hurry to spill the words on the page.

I admire those who can carve out work of artistic merit that speaks to its readership with a unique voice. I tend to use rhyme as a framework on which to hang a brief story, rather than search for the metre and rhythm that best conveys the imagery.

That’s not to say that I am unwilling or unable to learn from people who have made the effort to write poetry, not doggerel.

I came across an article The Paradox of Free Will by Brian Kirk, in the Honest Ulsterman magazine, which has some interesting thoughts about writing and form.

Leave a Reply

