Intellectual Sparring

This lunchtime on my trawl through the charity shops I eschewed the literary delights of a book that publishes the correspondence between Michel Houellebecq and Bernard-Henri Lévy called Public Enemies.

MH started the correspondence with some provocative comments, including the observation that BH-L invariably sports a white shirt. It gets more cerebral, but the tone is still playfully combative.

I may have to go back and buy it – I did use this picture of BH-L for as one of my avatars , but intellectually I lean more towards the nihilism of MH (or put another way, I have actually read a couple of MH’s books – BH-L looks soigné though.)

john_damerham@hotmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

