Thai food and Ulster victorious

Today was a good day. I woke early as usual, which meant that I got some chores out of the way before 10 o’clock and was able to head for Borough Market. The place was heaving with food fans, tourists and anyone who just fancied something different for lunch. I had cycled from Waterloo using a London/Boris bike. My first experience of this kind and I loved it – cheap, plenty of docking stations and easy to ride.

borough market

My good friend William was his affable and relaxed self, chatting to customers, organising staff and turning the potatoes. Paul Gambaccini was stood in line doing a crossword while he waited for his toastie. I interrupted him to make inane conversation, but he didn’t seem to mind. I tried some of the Thai dumplings from a neighbouring stall while I waited to get the odd word in with the cheese meister. I hadn’t realised just how much Borough Market had to offer; loads of cheese stalls, regional produce from across Europe and quality coffee shops and bars abounded in the locality.

Before  visiting hours began there was still time to meet my brother and our youngest in the Norbiton Dragon – good ale and Thai cuisine. We caught most of the Ulster v Oyonnax game in the bar and revelled in a stunning Ulster rampaging assault on the French defence. 56-3 at full time.

Mum had managed to eat some solid food, but still has a way to go before you could describe her as recovering. Andrew and I left when she appeared to be sleeping, Liam stayed to catch up with his studies at her bedside.

 

 

Leave a Reply

