Tea Fruitcake

Hairy Bikers have a recipe for tea fruitcake, which I tried to bake the other day while I was over at my mother-in-law’s. Judith eschewed the collaborative baking suggestion, so I had a go on my own.

I had brought round a bunch of ingredients, but sadly no mixed fruit. Necessity being the mother of invention, I substituted this and that and ended up with a fragrant mush with: desiccated coconut, dried apricots, almonds, zest of lemon, the juice of a lemon and the tea.

Without scales or measuring jug, I waited until I had returned home before turning the mush into cake by the addition of 4 large eggs, a dollop of milk and some self-raising flour.

Mmm…not sure how to finish the cake off – it needs something, maybe some cream/honey/jam…or just a cup of jasmine tea

Leave a Reply

