Clean Monday

Another Bank Holiday and the kitchen cried out for cleaning. Dishes, floor, cupboard doors, vases and recycling-done. Now for the DIY, lawn mowing….nah, it will keep. The bees are on my side I’m sure. Not because they are anti DIY, I have no idea what their opinions are on that subject, but our front and back mini jungles are replete with wild flowers (weeds to most people).

If the sun keeps shining, my thoughts might turn to burning garden waste and christmas trees. I love the whoosh you get from a well dried out pine tree. I suppose meat will have to be bought. Ribs and steaks or chicken? This question should be an easy one to answer if I was sticking to a diet. Unfortunately I lack commitment and keep putting off the start date.

Saturday was a bit of a boozy occasion. I had gone to Lavery’s to watch the Ospreys vs Ulster game and fell in with a fellow rugby fan and front row forward. Peter is a Tigers fan and plays for Bournville in the English midlands. He’s working in Northern Ireland for an aerospace company on a short contract. The Guinness went down easily, the conversation was relaxed and I suggested we try a couple of bars on the Ormeau Road. This had been a pleasant departure from my usual Saturday slothfulness. Making sure that Peter had the number for a taxi, I made my excuses and headed home for tv and a chinese takeaway.

Leave a Reply

